Stoneman Talks With Legendary Songwriter Jim Peterik

April 9, 2020

Jim Peterik



•  Grammy award winner Jim Peterik of the Ides Of March, formerly of Survivor and of 38 Special Fame. 

•  Jim has just unveiled a new song to the human spirit for these challenging times entitled, “Empty Arena”.

•  “Empty Arena” will be available for purchase and/or streaming in the coming days at iTunes,, AppleMusic, Spotify

•  A portion of the proceeds being donated to the MusiCares Foundation, a non-profit organization established by the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (NARAS).  MusiCares provides a safety net of critical assistance for                 music people in times of need.  Its services and resources cover a wide range of financial, medical & personal emergencies.

•  Last year The Ides of March released a new album entitled “Play On” - celebrating the group’s 55th anniversary.

•  “Play On” features a number of guest performers, including blues superstar guitarist Joe Bonamassa, Paul Schaffer, Cathy Richardson (Jefferson Starship), Mark Farner (Grand Funk Railroad), David Pack (Ambrosia), Bo Bice (American Idol / Blood Sweat & Tears).

•  “Play On” is available on CD, vinyl, digitally and streaming.  The double disc vinyl configuration contains 8 bonus tracks.

•  In 2019 Jim also released a new album by Jim Peterick and World Stage entitled “Winds of Change.”

•  “Winds of Change” features the duet "Proof of Heaven" which was performed as a duet with,  and co-written by, Dennis DeYoung (formerly of STYX). 

•  Guest appearances on “Winds of Change” are a virtual  who’s who of melodic rock’s greatest superstars, including: Kevin Chalfant (ex-The Storm), Dennis DeYoung (ex-Styx), Matthew and Gunnar Nelson, Kelly Keagy (Night Ranger), Mike                 Reno (Loverboy), Kevin Cronin (REO Speedwagon) and Jason Scheff (ex-Chicago) among others.

•  In 2016 Jim released “The Songs” - an inventive career retrospective which featured 11 of the biggest songs from his songwriting catalogue re-imagined from the ground up, including:

The 1970 Ides of March classic, "Vehicle"  -  done with just an electric piano and Johnny A's soulful lead guitar

The .38 Special hit, "Caught Up In You"  -  utilizing an Eleanor Rigby style strung ensemble

Survivor's "Eye Of The Tiger" -  with a practically bluegrass interpretation complete with fiddle, banjo and mandolin.

•  In 2014 Jim released the book “Through The Eye Of The Tiger” – providing an up-close view of the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle – its  pitfalls and triumphs.

•  In the book Jim shares the story of the day Sylvester Stallone left a message on his asking him to write a song for “Rocky III”. 

He initially thought it was one of his friends playing a prank on him.  The result of that call was the Jim Peterik/Frankie

Sullivan his “Eye Of The Tiger” which went on to become one of the most popular motivational anthem of all time”Eye of The Tiger” has been certified TRIPLE PLATINUM.

•  Jim has written 18 TOP 10 hits, including: “Hold On Loosely,” “Caught Up In You,” “Rocking Into The Night,” “Fantasy Girl”

•  Peterik penned songs have sold 30 MILLION copies worldwide.

•  Jim received a Grammy for “Eye Of The Tiger”.

•  Survivor has enjoyed the good fortune of 18 Billboard Hot 100 singles

•  Jim formed his first band, The Ides Of March, while in high school.  The group’s single “Vehicle” hit #2 on the Billboard chart

•  The Ides Of March shared the stage with Led Zeppelin, The Grateful Dead, Janis Joplin, and The Allman Joys among others…

•  Jim co-authored the book “Songwriting For Dummies” (2002)

•  For additional info, visit:    Twitter @JimPeterik  Twitter @IdesOfMarch USA                                                                                                                                                                


Sampling of Jim Peterik penned songs:

Ideas of March:

"L.A. Goodbye"                                              "Vehicle”                                 "You Wouldn't Listen"


"Somewhere In America"                               "Rebel Girl"                            "Poor Man's Son"       

"Summer Nights"                                            "Chevy Nights"                       "Eye Of The Tiger"

"Ever Since The World Began"                      "The Moment of Truth"          "I Can't Hold Back"                           

"The Search Is Over"                                      "Burning Heart"                      "Is This Love"

"Didn't Know It Was Love"                            "Across The Miles"

38 Special:

"Rockin' Into the Night"                                 "Hold On Loosely"                 "Fantasy Girl"                        

"Wild-Eyed Southern Boys"                           "Caught Up In You"               "Chain Lightning"

"You Keep On Runnin' Away"

Sammy Hagar:

"Heavy Metal"

Beach Boys:

"That's Why God Made The Radio"