Stoneman talks with 38 Special's Don Barnes

The Lost Solo Album "Ride the Storm"

July 27, 2017

Don originally recorded the tracks for Ride The Storm as a solo project for A&M Records in 1989.  He co-wrote most of the songs with the masterful songwriter and artist Martin Briley ("Salt In My Tears"), and he was honored to have some of the industry's top musicians on the recording. Just as it was ready to be released, A&M Records was sold through a huge global acquisition and the company changed hands several times. The project was put aside without a release date.


In searching for the original masters for Ride The Storm, Don found the only existing copy of a 'rock mix' that was commissioned in 1989 to take a look at how the songs would sound, remixed for a bigger 'rock' impact using today's technology.  MelodicRock Records agreed to release the music, insisting both the original and updated mixes of the classic album be included in the release. Also included are three individual, heavily traded, solo demo tracks that were not included on the original album's playlist.


The original tracks were cut by some of the most sought after musicians on the rock scene including Dann Huff, now an award-winning producer for the likes of Keith Urban, Rascal Flatts and others; piano/keyboard whiz Alan Pasqua; the late great Toto drummer Jeff Porcaro and his late brother Mike, who also played bass for Toto; Sammy Hagar's keyboard player Jesse Harms; and former Heart drummer Denny Carmassi.


The complete Ride The Storm release includes two CDs featuring the album in its original intended form, plus the second 'alternate mix' disc, on which the three additional bonus tracks are added at the end. No artwork was conceived for the original album, so Barnes collaborated with artist extraordinaire Nello Dell'Omo for the stunning Ride The Storm cover.