Here's What the Class of 2018 Says About Earning a Spot in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

December 14, 2017
Bon Jovi, The Moody Blues, DIre Straits

© Pacific Press / © Ron Elkman/USA TODAY NETWORK

On Wednesday, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame revealed its 2018 list of inductees. Joining the ranks of some of the most legendary names in rock at the 2018 induction ceremony are Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues, and Nina Simone, while Sister Rosetta Tharpe will receive the Award for Early Influence.

What did the Class of 2018 have to say about news of their induction? And who will be reuniting to perform at the ceremony? We’ll break it down for you below.

Bon Jovi

Bon Jovi has a sound that’s transformed over the years, but that hasn’t kept them from continuing to grow their fanbase. In fact, their massive following reaches all across the world, which has led them to sell over 120 million albums since they came on to the scene in the ‘80s. David Bryan, Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, Alec John Such, and Tico Torres will all be inducted.

While Jon Bon Jovi posted the below video thanking fans, he told USA Today that all members—including those who left the band—will “without a doubt” be asked to perform.

The Cars

One of the biggest new-wave bands of the late ‘70s and early ‘80s, The Cars’ Elliot Easton, Greg Hawkes, David Robinson, Ric Ocasek, and Benjamin Orr will be inducted in 2018.

In addition to the below announcement made on Facebook, frontman Ocasek spoke with Rolling Stone, explaining that it’s always an honor to receive an award, no matter what the occasion. But this year wasn’t the first time the band was nominated, so he admits that he initially ignored the nom, so this induction comes as a pleasant surprise—one that would’ve “flipped out” late bandmate Ben Orr.

On a possible reunion, Ocasek says that’ll “probably” happen, and he’d be prepared for it, but he can’t say for sure whether it’ll happen.

Dire Straits

‘80s rockers Dire Straits combine blues rock with some country woven in, and Alan Clark, Guy Fletcher, John Illsley, David Knopfler, Mark Knopfler, and Pick Withers will all be inducted in 2018.

Speaking with Billboard, Illsley described the honor as “ticking off a pretty large box.” Clark said that while he wasn’t exactly waiting around for this day to come, he did have a feeling it would happen at some point, and even though he doesn’t make a big deal of the Rock Hall, it’s nice to be honored for the band’s contributions nonetheless.

On a possible reunion, Illsley sets the record straight: Even though the band hasn’t been active over the past two decades, they haven’t officially broken up. Still, he couldn’t confirm whether that “reunion” performance would happen at the induction ceremony, telling Billboard that he was “definitely” game, but he’d have to convince Mark Knopfler to join in.

The Moody Blues

Pioneers of progressive rock, The Moody Blues have been in the game for over 50 years and will induct current members Graeme Edge, Justin Hayward, and John Lodge, as well as former members Mike Pinder and Ray Thomas.

In a statement on the band’s website, Hayward discusses how privileged he feels to be inducted with Nina Simone, as well as already inducted heroes Buddy Holly and the Everly Brothers. Lodge thanks radio, fans, and the Rock Hall, while Edge thanks his peers, fans, and the Rock Hall for the honor.

The 33rd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place in Cleveland, OH on April 14, 2018.